(This is a follow-up to my original post, found here.)

Well, here it is, almost two weeks later, and I’m healing quite well.

The abrasion on the tender side of my right forearm has been reduced to what now looks like a bad rash; the more significant abrasion on the outside of my right calf no longer requires a bandage, but there’s still a fair amount of scabbing, and where the scabbing has healed, the skin is a tender pink compared to the surrounding summer tan color. And the HUGE bruising on my posterior, which, by the way migrated half way down my leg, is almost gone now, save for a small amount of purplish-yellowish tone in an area about six inches above my knee.

The bike is fairing well, too. I’ve re-taped the handlebars; looks new again! The leather seat sustained a fair amount of scraping, but the leather skin was not breached, therefore I won’t be replacing the seat at this time. The same goes for the rear derailleur; it sustained some deep scratches from the lateral slide with the road surface, but the damage is only cosmetic as it still functions as it should. And the front tire? I’ve patched it twice already, but I cannot get the patches to hold since one of the two punctures was on the sidewall. I will be getting a new tube for that tire.

Yes, I still have the iPhone, and no, it has not been repaired or replaced. I was actually hoping I would not have to repair it. In fact, I sent a copy of my blog, in letter form, to Apple with the hope of garnering some sympathy for my misfortune. Yes, I admit it — it was a cheesy attempt to get Apple to feel my plight. But I believe they are not without empathy, and since it hasn’t been two weeks yet, maybe there’s hope.

Time for a little history…

I’m an Apple convert. A new-found loyalist, in fact. And proud of it. I started out, as many do, on a PC with DOS and Windows. For me, it was Windows 3.0. I was a mainframe programmer at the time, and the company for which I worked asked me to be their in-house ‘computer guy’ for a small network of Windows PCs (it was predetermined we would be using nothing but Windows). Soon, I was responsible for the entire company network. I lead the migration to Windows 95, then to Windows 2000 and XP. I was repairing PCs and even building them from scratch. I had accumulated quite a bit of knowledge about Windows and PCs in general. So much so, in fact, that I would go home every evening and spend at least an hour or more making sure my home machine was protected from the latest virus and malware threats. And it was becoming exhausting.

The time had come for me to spend some hard-earned money to either upgrade my PC — or buy a Mac. I had toyed with the idea of getting a Mac when Apple release OS X Tiger and switched to the Intel processor. And combined with the realization that an upgrade to my PC would only give me a faster machine that was still susceptible to all those same — and emerging — virus and malware attacks, I decided it was time to make the leap and try a Mac. It was February 2006, and I was the new owner of a 20″ iMac with OS X Tiger.

Few things are more satisfying than getting a new computer. Buying the latest model, take it home, unbox the various components, spending an hour or more sorting out the pieces, cables and peripherals, plugging everything into each other, then arranging all the components so they fit in the available workspace before finally pressing that all-to-familiar power button to watch it spring to life. Unfortunately, for some, this is an incredibly complex task.

With the iMac, there’s the power cable. That’s it. One cable. Plug it in and you’re done. Side note: I opted for the wireless keyboard and mouse, otherwise there would normally be a cable for the keyboard and mouse too. Oh, and my Internet connection (I wasn’t wireless at the time, so I plugged in my RJ-45 broadband cable). So I had two cables to connect. I was done connecting everything in under a minute. Flat. Arranging everything? What’s there to arrange? It’s a single unit. Clean. Simple.

Then I pressed the power button. Holy Mother of Christ! The heavens opened up, the clouds parted, the sun’s rays came pouring into the room, and choirs of angels trumpeted glorious music as OS X presented itself for the first time inside my home! Think I’m exaggerating? I’ve birthed quite a few PCs in my life, but NOTHING compared to this. I was so blown away, in fact, that it only took a half hour and I was hooked. I immediately started looking for OS X versions of my favorite applications, and within two weeks had completely weaned myself off the old Windows box. Two weeks. I shut it down and never went back. I had just terminated a 15-year relationship with Windows, and all it took was a 30-minute, out-of-the-box experience.

So here I am, two-and-a-half years later, still running the same iMac. Still loving it. Still NOT going back to Windows. Yeah, I still use Windows at work, but not as much as I used to. My responsibilities have changed somewhat, and since I’m now doing layout and design work, the company put a 24″ iMac on my desk. Very nice machine. Very happy employee. Very smart move on their part.

Now if I could just get Apple to help me out with my first-generation iPhone…

